地理环境现况与统计人口语言气候前往澳门签证交通

货币水电供给WIFI无线网络美食实用信息购物建筑风格住宿

Macau Location

地理环境

澳门特别行政区(澳门)隶属中国领土范围内,坐落于中国的东南部沿海地区,珠江三角洲的西岸。澳门毗邻广东省,与广州市距离145公里;位于其西南方向的香港与其相距65公里,仅需一小时船程便可抵达。

Macau in the map

澳门总面积约为30平方千米,由狭长的澳门半岛和两座岛屿氹仔和路环)组成。澳门的边境大门(葡萄牙语Portas to Cerco,意为关闸)与珠海互通,将澳门与中华人民共和国相连。澳门当地有三座跨海桥梁,将澳门半岛与氹仔、路环互相连通,分别为:嘉乐庇总督大桥、友谊大桥(葡萄牙语Ponte da Amizade,意为友谊大桥)和西湾大桥。澳门本地时间与香港及北京时间相同,照比格林威治标准时间提前8个小时。澳门车辆一律靠左通行,在当地过马路时请特别留意。

Macau Facts & Figures

现况与统计

澳门自1999年起的未来50年内,遵照“一国两制”的政策方针进行治理,先前该政策由民选政府当局实行, 1999年回归之后则由中国中央政府恢复对澳门行使主权。在这项政策下,澳门持续享有自主的社会体制,自主的法律、经济、财政事务,包括与外邦的对外关系(中央政府也保留了必要的權限,例如:與澳門特區有關的外交事務和防務,由中央人民政府負責管理)。澳门是中国领土上唯一一个拥有合法经营博彩业资格的地区,且现已成为世界最大的博彩业市场,创造的收入超越拉斯维加斯。博彩业覆盖澳门经济的一半以上,占政府财政收入的85%。有20%的澳门居民人口为博彩业从业人员。自1998年以来,澳门通过填海造地,陆地面积增至约为700个标准足球场大小。截至2012年的人口普查显示,澳门居民的预期寿命长度排名世界第二位,达84.43岁。

Macau Population

人口

澳门的人口数量约为六十四万九千一百人,人口密度为21.352人/平方公里,澳门半岛的北区更是全球居住密度最高的区域之一。澳门的人口组成中,华人约占95%,余下的人口主要为土生葡人,即拥有葡萄牙人与华人(少数为非洲人)混合血统的群体。亚热带的自然气候、较少的人口基数以及较高水平的(GDP),促成了澳门人均寿命全球第二的排名。

Language

语言

虽然广东话在澳门的使用最为广泛,但英文的使用亦很普遍,特别是在旅游和商贸方面。普通话也有数量可观的本地使用者,尤其是那些旅游行业的从业人员。澳门的官方语言,即用于政府部门之间、官方通信或文件的语言,是繁体中文及葡萄牙语。澳门自身存有一种葡国方言,叫做“澳门土生葡语”,即一种通常被称为“Patuá”的特殊方言。平均来讲,澳门本土居民能够无障碍地听懂普通话。

Weather in Macau

气候

澳门地处亚热带气候区,全年气候温和宜人。澳门的年平均气温大约23摄氏度(73华氏度),本地相对湿度较高,年平均湿度最高可达79%。澳门的年平均降雨量约为2058毫米。

每年一月份、二月份和三月份属冬季,气温较低,天气通常晴朗,气温一般于四月份渐趋回暖,该季节要注意防寒,建议着装选择为羊毛衫搭配厚夹克衫或外套。
[BetterWeather location=”22.1663,113.5598″ show_date=“on” location_name=”Macau” show_location=”on”  icons_type=“animated” font_color=”#fff” unit=“C” show_unit=”on” /]
五月至九月份属夏季时段。该季节天气相对炙热且十分潮湿,降雨天气较为频繁,并且不时会出现热带气旋天气(即台风天气)。该季节建议游客着轻便棉质衣物,畅享轻松旅途。
十月至十二月是澳门气候最为舒适宜人的季节,游客可以在干爽而晴朗温暖的秋季里尽情游玩。

Travelling to Macau

前往澳门

旅客前往澳门可选择陆路、海路、搭乘飞机或或港珠澳大桥:

飞机:旅客可搭乘直飞或中转航班至澳门国际机场,或选择由距离最近的香港、深圳或珠海的城市机场转机。澳门的机场设于氹仔岛,还可选择直升机服务从深圳或香港抵澳。

海路:澳门,香港与深圳之间的渡轮班次频繁,澳门有两处客运码头,分别在澳门半岛和氹仔岛机场附近。多数游客选择渡轮服务,走海路抵达澳门,出发地可选信德中心(香港上环)、香港国际机场、中国(香港)中港城客运码头(香港九龙尖沙咀)、屯门客运码头(香港新界)、蛇口(深圳)或福永客运码头(深圳机场)。

大桥:旅客现时可通过新开通的港珠澳大桥从香港乘搭公车到澳门(大桥位于香港国际机场附近)。旅客必须先到大屿山(可乘搭港铁到欣澳站)再转乘公车B5到香港口岸乘搭大桥口岸公车。公车票价是日间港币$65和晚间$75。

陆路:澳门是一座半岛,陆地上通过珠海市与中国内地相连;澳门的陆路有两处边界:通往中国内地的通道经由澳门半岛的拱北关闸(拱北口岸),以及路氹城的莲花大桥边界,此处通往的是横琴岛,属珠海市的一部分。

Travelling to Macau

Visas for Macau

签证

所有到访澳门的旅客须持有护照或有效的旅行证件。除免签证或持有入境许可证国家的国民外,其他所有旅客都须持有签注入境。有关豁免签注及“入境许可证”的更多信息,请浏览澳门治安警察局网站上的移民服务类目。

澳门签证可通过中华人民共和国领事馆/大使馆办理,并须于有效期限内使用。游客亦可以在到达移民检查站后申请签注和入境许可证。

来自某些特定国家的游客须在抵达澳门之前提前办理好签注手续,欲了解更多信息,请登陆网站: http://www.fsm.gov.mo/psp/eng/AfMV.html

入境许可证种类包含如下三种(即落地签注):

个人——澳门币100元(年龄在12岁以下的儿童澳门币50元)

家庭护照——澳门币200元

团体——由单独的旅行社导游带团,且成员不少于10人的团体,每位成员收取澳门币50元,并须提供集体旅行文件。

以下国家/地区享有免签注政策:

可逗留180天:英国

可逗留90天:所有欧盟成员国,以及阿尔巴尼亚、安道尔、波斯尼亚和黑塞哥维那、巴西、佛得角、多米尼加、埃及、厄瓜多尔、格林纳达、冰岛、以色列、日本、黎巴嫩、列支敦士登、马其顿、马里、毛里求斯、墨西哥、摩尔多瓦、蒙古、黑山、新西兰、塞尔维亚、韩国、瑞士和坦桑尼亚。

可逗留30天:马来西亚、摩纳哥、纳米比亚、菲律宾、俄罗斯、萨摩亚、圣马力诺、塞舌尔、新加坡、南非、泰国、土耳其、美国和乌拉圭。

以上信息仅供参考。有关入境手续的更多资料,请联络澳门治安警察局澳门出入境服务电话:(澳门地区代码)+853 2872 5488或发送电子邮件至: sminfo@fsm.gov.mo, 亦可登录其网站: http://www.fsm.gov.mo 查询。

Transportation in Macau

交通

巴士公交和的士是在澳门出行的两个主要公共交通方式。巴士服务相对普遍且价格低廉,可前往澳门半岛、氹仔、路氹以及路环各个区域。巴士路线信息可浏览巴士站站牌,上面以中文及葡文详细列明各个当前站点、行程方向及沿途各站。所有路线的巴士车资为澳门币6元。建议乘客自备适当硬币零钱投币,巴士不设零钱找换。所有巴士车辆皆配有冷气。

的士亦不失为一种便捷的出行选择,但在高峰时段街上很难叫到车。相对容易搭的士的地点通常是在机场/氹仔客运码头、外港客运码头,以及各大主要的娱乐场及酒店门口。

澳门的士车身为黑色,车顶乳白色,起步价为澳门币19.00元,包含首1600米的路程,其后路程每增加240米加收澳门币2.00元。依乘客要求停车等候每分钟需加收澳门币2.00元,车后备箱放置行李每件需付澳门币3.00元附加费。

由澳门半岛搭乘的士到路环或是由澳门国际机场搭乘的士,乘客需支付澳门币5.00元附加费,而从氹仔搭乘的士至路环则加收澳门币2.00元。从澳门半岛搭乘至氹仔或是由氹仔、路环搭乘至澳门半岛则不加收费用。

穿梭巴士:搭乘穿梭巴士出行非常便利。澳门大多数的酒店与娱乐场都为客人提供穿梭巴士服务,穿梭巴士线路不仅限于各家酒店之间,更涵盖各大主要交通枢纽站以及各个热门旅游景点。穿梭巴士皆为免费搭乘,可于各个口岸搭乘。

Currency in Macau

货币

澳门的法定货币为澳门币(即MOP,又称葡币),澳门币一元可被分成100仙(即avos,类似于一分钱),受政府法令规定,可与港币(HKD)互相流通使用,汇率为每103.20澳门币兑100.00港币,最高的可接受变化幅度为10%。澳门币的硬币面额分为1毫,2毫,5毫以及1元、2元、5元;纸钞面额分为10元、20元、50元、100元、500元以及1000元。需要进行外汇兑换或者旅行支票兑现的旅客,可以通过银行、酒店以及有授权经营许可的货币兑换商铺完成,以上场所在城区内都不难找到。粗略来计算,每8澳门元大约等同1美元。港币(HKD)几乎在全澳门皆可使用,即便如此,仍然推荐尽量使用本地货币澳门币,因为使用港币或人民币在商家消费时,与澳门币的兑换率皆为1:1。

银联卡、VISA信用卡以及万事达信用卡在澳门各处通用,在澳门国际机场,以及澳门半岛中区的葡京酒店附近更是提供24小时的外币兑换服务。

Water and Electricity in Macau

水电供给

澳门,用水供给方面全部依靠中国大陆提供。澳门使用经过纯化和氯化消毒的自来水,各个酒店及餐厅也都会提供可饮用的蒸馏水。澳门本地居民不会直接饮用自来水管的水,通常都是将自来水煮沸,待冷却后饮用。自来水可用于淋浴及洗漱。澳门的标准电压为230伏特,频率50赫兹,所使用的电源插座为方形和圆形的三孔插头,来澳之前请检查阁下电子设备,准备转换插头以便使用。

Wifi in Macau

WIFI无线网络

澳门城区覆盖范围广阔的免费wifi无线网络,即澳门政府为市民以及游客提供的免费无线宽带系统“wifigo”。该无线网络服务完全免费使用,在诸多市政设施附近均可接入,如各大主要世界自然文化遗产景点、博物馆、公园和广场、公共交通枢纽、运动设施、医院、政府办公大楼等。游客可在每日早晨8点至次日凌晨1点之间时段使用该项无线网络,每隔45分钟需重新登录一次。各家大型娱乐场也在其场地范围内提供其专属的wifi上网服务。澳门电信公司CTM也在澳门部分巴士公交上设置了免费移动wifi热点,可搜索“Bus-Free-WiFi”进行连接,接入后需操作进行注册验证过程,随后乘客将收到CTM通过短信发送到激活码,输入后即可享30分钟免费wifi服务。大多数酒店和娱乐场的穿梭巴士上也配有wifi上网服务。

Food in Macau

美食

澳门土生菜风味独特,基于其多文化根基,可以满足各种饮食口味的人群。您或许可以认为土生菜正是诞生自澳门。澳门的美食反映出了澳门在16和17世纪时,作为调味香料中心贸易港的历史,食物受到了来自非洲、巴西、马来西亚、印度、东帝汶和中国的影响。葡萄牙航海员们将各种原料从世界各地运至澳门,他们的传统菜肴和美食采用了新的形式,以本地和中式技法进行食材准备和烹调。在2017年,澳门更获联合国教科文组织被评定为「创意城市美食之都」。澳门对于美食和美酒爱好者们来说,是一个完美目的地,这里有他们想要品尝的令人垂涎的街边小食、本土食肆或米其林星级餐厅。

Macau Useful Info

实用信息

地区代码: +853

时区:国际标准时间+8小时(与中国标准时间相同)

紧急情况拨打:999/110/112
仁伯爵综合医院电话:(853) 28313731
镜湖医院电话:(853) 28371333
科大医院电话:(853) 28821838

澳门国际机场

开放时间:09:00-13:30, 14:15-19:30, 20:15-22:00
电话:(853) 2886
传真:(853) 2886 1437
直升机场http://www.skyshuttlehk.com

氹仔客运码头

开放时间:09:30-13:00
电话:(853) 2885
(853) 2885 0310

旅游热线:
拨打电话:(853) 28 333 000 可实时求助
警察局:电话:(853) 2857 3333
火警:电话:(853) 2857 2222

喷射飞航:
澳门 (853) 8790 7039
香港 (852) 2859 3333

金光飞航:
澳门 (853) 2885 0595
香港 (852) 2359 9990

Shopping in Macau

购物

在澳门购物是游客们最为重要的活动了。得益于免税政策和低购物税,澳门吸引着数量众多的世界知名品牌来此设立商店和经销店。澳门已经成为中国最佳零售和品味优质生活的选地之一,并且是当之无愧的顶级购物体验之都。对于游客们来说,最棒的一点是,澳门城区紧凑,为在澳门游逛和购物提供最佳的便捷。从奢侈品精品店,到典雅的购物商场,再到街头风格的服装市场,澳门实属一处购物天堂,使游客们充满激情,尽情亲手选购纪念品和其他礼物,送给亲朋好友。

瞭解更多澳門購物資訊

Architecture in Macau

建筑风格

澳门生动地将葡萄牙文化与中国文化加以融合。在这里,虽有大量遗留的建筑造型是出自早先葡萄牙匠人之手,然而这些充满欧洲风情的楼阁却都被赋予了一层东方韵味。伫立在澳门的神祠、庙宇或是花园,都在隐约间透露出这座城池里的一丝中华神韵。澳门建筑风格的这份独特的交融之美,为整座城市增添了浪漫的情调,吸引了众多游客到访参观。在2005年,澳门特区政府成功申报将「澳门历史城区」列入世界遗产名录,成为中国第31处世界遗产。自1999年赌权开放以来,澳门已采取全新的经济导向,发放更新的博彩营业执照,对澳门进行投资建设,以期成为“东方拉斯维加斯”,这也标志着澳门建筑风格迎来全新转变。

Accommodation in Macau

住宿

游客可以轻松找到令人惊喜的住宿选择,满足各种特定需求——从设有购物中心和休闲设施的国际5星级酒店,到别致的中型酒店。也可在您预算的范围之内进行选择:寻求普通住宿条件的游客,可以在澳门市中心区找到各种价格低廉的酒店和旅馆;路氹城有许多综合度假村,工作日的房价十分诱人;路环岛那里有几家海滨酒店以及澳门的两间旅舍。酒店房价通常在星期五和星期六晚上是最昂贵的,因为那时游客大量涌入澳门以便利用周末游玩,使得客房需求量增加。如果您是从香港来,您可以通过位于信德中心码头的旅行社进行预订,得到打包套票,其中包含回程船票。

GeographyFacts & FiguresPopulationLanguageWeatherTravelling to MacauVisasTransportation

CurrencyWater & ElectricityWifiFoodUseful InfoShoppingArchitectureAccomodation

Macau Location

Geography

The Macau Special Administrative Region (MSAR) is a part of China’s territory. It is located on the southeast coast of China, to the west of the Pearl River Delta. Bordering on Guangdong Province, Macau lies 65 kilometers – just an hour’s ferry ride southwest from Hong Kong and 145 kilometers from Guangzhou.

Macau in the mapMacau has a total area of approximately 30 square kilometers, consisting of a narrow peninsula called Macau and two islands (Taipa & Coloane). The Border gate “Portas to Cerco” connects Macau to the People’s Republic of China through the city of Zuhai. Three bridges, Nobre de Carvalho Bridge, Friendship Bridge (Ponte da Amizade) and Sai Van Bridge, link Macau peninsula to Taipa and Coloane. Local time is same as Hong Kong and eight hours ahead of Greenwich. Be careful crossing the road, vehicles in Macau drive on the left. Mean Time.

Macau Facts & Figures

Facts & Figures

Macau is governed under the “one country, two systems” arrangement for 50 years from 1999 by an elected local authority before reverting to Beijing’s full control. Under this principle, Macau continues to have its own political system, legal, economic and financial affairs, including external relations with foreign countries (the Central People’s Government retains necessary power over the MSAR. For instance,the Central People’s Government shall be responsible for the foreign affairs and defense relating to the MSAR. Macau is the only place in China where gambling is allowed. It has become the world’s biggest gambling market, generating more Revenue than Las Vegas. Gaming represents half the economy and about 85 per cent of government revenue. 20 percent of Macau’s population is employed by the casinos. Since 1998 Macau has added land to its territory, approximately equal to the size of 700 football fields. People in Macau have the 2nd longest expected life span in the world at 84.43 as of 2012 census.

Macau Population

Population

The population of Macau is estimated to be 649,100 . Population density is 21.352/square kilometer, and the northern part of the peninsula is one of the most densely populated areas in the world. Macau’s population is made up of about 95% Chinese, and the rest are mainly Macanese, which are people of mixed Portuguese and Chinese (and sometimes African) ancestry. The subtropical climate, small population and a high GDP per capita makes Macau the second country with highest life expectancy.

Language

Language

Though Cantonese is the most widely spoken language in town, English is also common, especially in tourism and commerce. The official languages of Macau, used in government departments, official communications and documentation, are Chinese (Cantonese) and Portuguese. Macau has its own dialect of Portuguese called “Macanese Portuguese” and a distinctive creole generally known as “Patuá”. On average Macau habitants have a good understanding of mandarin.

Weather in Macau

Weather

Macau is located in the subtropical climate zone and has moderate climate conditions throughout the year. Annual average temperature is about 23ºC (73ºF).
Humidity levels are high in the city, where the average annual relative humidity tops 79%. The average annual rainfall measures about 2,058 mm in Macau.

January, February and March are the winter months with relatively cold but sunny weather, when it slowly gets warm again in April. To keep warm, woolens are recommended along with a thick jacket or an overcoat.

May to September is summer season. The weather becomes very hot and humid with more rainy days and occasional tropical storms (known as typhoons). Visitors are advised to wear light cotton clothes for a pleasant journey.

October to December is the most pleasant season to visit Macau, when visitors can enjoy warm autumn days with low humidity.

Travelling to Macau

Travelling to Macau

Visitors can travel to Macau by land, sea and air:

By Air: Take direct or connecting flight to Macau International Airport or transfer from nearest city airport venues from Hong-Kong, Shenzhen or Zuhai. Airport is located in Taipa island. There are Helicopter services from Shenzen and Hong Kong to Macau.

By Sea: Ferries are run regularly between Macau, Hong Kong and Shenzhen. Many visitors travel to Macau by sea using ferry services via Shun Tak Centre (Sheung Wan, Hong Kong), Hong Kong International Airport, China (HK) Ferry Terminal (Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong), Tuen Mun Ferry Terminal (New Territories, Hong Kong), Shekou (Shenzhen), and Fu Yong Ferry Terminal (Shenzhen Airport).

By Land: Macau is a peninsula and connected to the mainland China through the city of Zhuhai. There are 2 borders by land in Macau: crossings from Mainland China are made through the Gongbei Border Gate (portas do Cerco) on Macau Peninsula and the Lotus Bridge border in Cotai that connects to Hengqin island and is part of Zuhai.

Travelling to Macau

Visas for Macau

Visas

All visitors must hold a passport or a valid travel document for travel to Macau. All visitors are required to have a visa except nationals of countries which are exempted from a visa or entry permit. For more information on “Visa” and “Entry Permit” Exemption, please visit the website of the Macau Immigration Services of Public Security Police Force.

A Macau visa can be obtained through the Embassies/Consulates of the PRC and should be used within its validity. Visitors may also apply for an entry permit or visa upon arrival at the immigration checkpoint.

Visitors from certain countries are required to obtain a visa in advance before their trip to Macau. For more information, please visit the website:

There are three types of entry permit (i.e. Visa-upon-arrival) :

Individual – MOP$100 (MOP$50 for children under the age of 12)

Family Passport – MOP$200

Group – MOP$50 per person for groups of at least 10 people organized by a single travel manager and presenting a collective travel document .

VISA-FREE FOR THE FOLLOWING COUNTRIES/ TERRITORIES:

For up to 180 days: United Kingdom

For up to 90 days: All European Union member states, plus Albania, Andorra, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Cape Verde, Dominica, Egypt, Ecuador, Grenada, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Mali, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, New Zealand, Norway, Serbia, South Korea, Switzerland and Tanzania.

For up to 30 days: Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, India, Indonesia, Kiribati, Malaysia, Monaco, Namibia, Philippines, Russia, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand, Turkey, the United States and Uruguay.

The above information is for reference only. For further information on entry formalities, please contact the Macau Immigration Services of Public Security Police Force at Tel: (Macau area code) +853 2872 5488 or email: sminfo@fsm.gov.mo, or visit their website: http://www.fsm.gov.mo.

Transportation in Macau

Transportation

Buses and taxis are the major modes of public transport in Macau. Bus services are frequent and inexpensive, linking the Macau peninsula, Taipa, Cotai and Coloane. Route information in Chinese and Portuguese is posted at every bus stop detailing destinations, itineraries and stops. Bus fares range from MOP3.20 to MOP6.40 depending upon the distance travelled. Passengers should prepare adequate coins for the fare as no change is given on the buses, all of which are air-conditioned.

Taxis are also a convenient option, but difficult to get one on the streets during rush hours. They are easy to find near the airport/Taipa ferry terminal, the Hong Kong-Macau ferry terminal, and major gaming venues and hotels.

Macau taxi’s are black with a cream roof. The flag-fall charge is MOP17.00 for the first 1600 meters, with MOP2.00 added for every 260 meters thereafter. MOP2.00 is charged for waiting per minute at the passenger’s request. There is a MOP3.00 surcharge for each item of luggage carried in the boot.

There is a MOP5.00 surcharge for boarding a taxi at Macau International Airport or journeys from Macau to Coloane. From Taipa to Coloane, a MOP2.00 surcharge applies, while there is no surcharge from Macau to Taipa or from the islands to Macau.

Shuttle Bus: Very convenient way to get around. Most of the hotels and casinos in Macau also operate shuttle buses for their guests covering not only the Hotels but all the major transit points and main tourist places of Macau. The Shuttle bus are free and depart from all borders.

Currency in Macau

Currency

Macau’s official currency is the pataca (MOP), which is divided into 100 avos (cents) and linked to the Hong Kong dollar (HKD) by government decree at an exchange rate of MOP103.20 to HKD100.00, with an acceptable variation of up to 10%. Coins are issued in 10, 20 and 50 avos and 1, 2, 5 pataca denominations, and bills in 10, 20, 50, 100, 500 and 1000 Pataca denominations. Visitors who need to exchange foreign currencies or traveler’s checks can do so at banks, hotels, or authorized exchange dealers, which can be found throughout the city. Roughly 8 Patacas is equivalent to 1 US Dollar. HKD is accepted almost verywhere in Macau, although we recommend using local currency MOP as the exchange rate for HKD and RMB will be always 1:1.

Union Pay, Visa, Mastercard is widely accepted everywhere in Macau. 24-hour currency exchange service can be found at the Macau International Airport and near the Lisboa hotel in the center.

Water and Electricity in Macau

Water and Electricity

With no source of water of its own, Macau relies totally on the Mainland China for water supply. Macau draws purified and chlorinated water, with distilled drinking water available in all hotels and restaurants. Usually local residents don’t drink tap water straight from the tap. They drink tap water that’s been boiled then cooled down. Tap water can e used to shower and brush your teeth. The city uses a voltage of 230V and a frequency of 50Hz. The power sockets used are square-shaped and round-shaped with 3- pin plugs. Check your electrical devices for compatibility before use.

Wifi in Macau

Wifi

Macau has extensive free wifi coverage throughout the city. Macau government provides citizens and visitors free access to the Internet through Wireless Broadband System “wifigo”. This wireless Internet access service is free of charge and can be accessible in public facilities, such as Major Cultural and World Heritage attractions, Museum, Parks and squares, Public transport terminals, sport locations, Hospital, Government buildings. Visitors can use daily from 8am to 1am in the next day, 45 minutes each connection limit. Majority of casinos also offer their own free Wifi services within their property. Macau telco CTM has launched free mobile WiFi hotspots on some public buses accessible through “Bus-Free-WiFi”. Upon completion of the registration process, passengers will receive an SMS with activation code from CTM which entitles to enjoy 30 minutes of WiFi service for free. The majority of Shuttle Buses from casino and hotels also have wifi.

Food in Macau

Food

Macanese cuisine is unique and offers something for every taste due to its multicultural roots. You might say Macanese cuisine is the birthplace of fusion cuisine. The food in Macau reflects its past as central spices trading port during 16th &17th century, receiving influences from Africa, Brazil, Malaysia, India, East Timor and China. Ingredients arrived from all over the world through Portuguese sailors and their traditional dishes and food took on new structures prepared and cooked with local and Chinese techniques. Macau is the perfect destination for the food and wine lovers that want to experience delicious street food, local restaurants or Michelin-starred restaurants.

Macau Useful Info

Useful Info

Country Code: +853

Time Zone: UTC+8 (same as China Standard Time)

Emergency: Tel: 999 / 110 / 112
Hospital Centre S. Januário: Tel: (853) 28313731
Kiang Wu Hospital: Tel: (853) 28371333
University Hospital: Tel: (853) 28821838

Macau International Airport

Opening Hours: 09:00-13:30, 14:15-19:30, 20:15-22:00
Tel: (853) 2886
Fax: (853) 2886 1437

Taipa Ferry Terminal

Opening Hours: 09:30-13:00
Tel: (853) 2885
Fax: (853) 2885 0310

Tourism Hotline: Tel: (853) 28 333 000 for immediate assistance
Police: Tel: (853) 2857 3333
Fire: Tel: (853) 2857 2222

Turbo JET:
Macau (853) 8790 7039
Hong Kong (852) 2859 3333

Cotai JET:
Macau (853) 2885 0595
Hong Kong (852) 2359 9990

Shopping in Macau

Shopping

Shopping in Macau City is the most important activity among tourists. Thanks to its duty-free policies and low taxes, Macau attracts a great number of world-famous fashion brands to establish stores and outlets in the city. Macau has become one of the best retail and lifestyle destinations in China, and is truly the home of the ultimate Shopping Experience. The best part for visitors is that the city is compact, making the best of Macau simple to explore and shop. From luxurious boutiques to elegant shopping stores and street style market outfit, Macau City is a shopping paradise and an exciting place for visitors. Tourists get a hands-on experience to buy souvenirs and other gifts for friends and family.

Read more about shopping in Macau

Architecture in Macau

Architecture

Macau is a vibrant mix of Portuguese & Chinese culture. Though Portuguese have contributed a lot to Macau architecture, the actual buildings with European designs were always given an Oriental touch. Shrine, temples and gardens in Macau show the glimpse of Chinese contribution to this city. As a result the unique combination in Macau architecture adds a romantic character to the city and charms a large number of visitors. With the liberalization of Gaming in 1999, Macau has taken a new economic model by inviting renewed gaming licenses to invest and develop Macau into a “Las Vegas of the East”, marking a transformation in Macau’s architecture.

Accommodation in Macau

Accommodation

Visitors can easily find amazing selection of accommodations covering all kind of specific needs and preferred budget range – from international 5-star brand hotels offering shopping malls and leisure facilities to chic medium-sized hotels. Visitors seeking basic accommodation can find a variety of budget hotels and pousadas in downtown Macao. Cotai has many integrated resorts, offering excellent weekday deals. Coloane is home to a handful of beachy inns and the city’s two hostels. Hotel rates are usually most expensive on Friday and Saturday nights because demand is higher with tourists coming to Macau to gamble over the weekend. If you are coming from Hong Kong, you can book through an agent at the Shun Tak ferry , getting a package deal including return ferry tickets.